Moscow City Racing 2015 track layout

© Россия Likely track layout for the Moscow City Racing event of the Blancpain Sprint Series in Moscow on July 4-5 2015. It’s a 2.7 kilometre street course between the Lomonosov State University and the Moskva (with the Luzhniki Stadium on the opposite side of the river). © Россия

20 cars for Coupes de Pâques 2015

20 GT3 cars are entered for the first race of the Blancpain Sprint Series (BSS) in Nogaro on Easter Weekend. Bearing in mind that some changes might appear until the green flag drops, here are some remarks on the entry list.

  • The pairing Kévin Estre & Rob Bell at Attempto Racing looks very promising.
  • DTM and GT veteran Bernd Schneider is back on the track with GT Russian Team.
  • There are six German teams in the BSS: that’s over 50%.
  • BMW Team Brasil‘s regular drivers have cimmitments across the Atlantic, thus Maxime Martin & Dirk Müller and the Specrafico bros. will drive the two BMW Z4s.
  • Fortec has closed it’s GT operations. Thus, they withdrew the Mercedes in BSS.



21 full season entries for BSS in 2015

The SRO has published the full season entry list for the Blancpain Srprint Series in 2015. It contains 21 GT3 cars of 8 different manufacturers. More details here.

Long-time Mercedes team HTP switched to Bentley.

This teams joined the BSS for the 2015 season:

  • Attempto Racing | GER | McLaren
  • Fach Auto Tech | SUI | Porsche
  • GT Russian Team | RUS | Mercedes
  • ISR | CZE | Audi
  • MRS GT Racing | GER |  Nissan
  • Rinaldi Corse | GER | Ferrari

This teams left the BSS:

  • Bhai Tec Racing | ITA | McLAren
  • Blancpain Racing | SUI | Lamborghini
  • Grasser Racing Team | AUT | Lamborghini
  • ROAL Racing | ITA | BMW
  • Villorba Corse | ITA | Ferrari

The first event of the 2015 season is the Coupes de Pâques in Nogaro from 4th April to 6th April 2015.

Blancpain Sprint Series Calendar 2015

On 3 November the FIA published the official Blancpain Sprint Series Calendar 2015 calendar. Thus, the 2015 season consists of seven races.:

  1. Nogaro, France (04-06 April 2015)
  2. Brands Hatch, Great Britain (09-10 May 2015)
  3. Zolder, Belgium (05-07 June 2015)
  4. Moscow, Russia (03-05 July 2015)
  5. Portimão Portugal (04-06 September 2015)
  6. Misano, Italy (02-04 October 2015)
  7. Baku, Azerbaijan (24-25 October 2015)

The races in Zandvoort (Netherlands) and Orechová Potôň (Slovakia) are discontinued. New additions to the calendar 2015 are Moscow (Russia) and Misano (Italy). The races in Moscow will be contested on a street circuit.

The events in Brasil and Germany that were proposed in the provisional calendar did not materialise.

Götz and WRT are BSS Champions 2014

Maximilian Götz is the driver’s champion of the Blancpain Sprint Series 2014. He would have shared the title with HTP team-mate Maximilian Buhk but the young German had to miss the event in Slovakia and lost valuable points. Combined third were Grasser Racing’s Hari Proczyk and Jeroen Bleekemolen who had a shot at the title until the final event of the season in Baku.

The team‘s championship was won by the Belgian outfit WRT which also won the Silver Cup with Vincent Abril and Mateusz Lisowsk. HTP had to settle with th runner-up spot with Grasser Racing coming home third.

Complete standings are here.

Potential Blancpain Sprint Series Calendar 2015

Today at Spa-Francorchamps, Stéphane Ratel revealed SRO’s plans for the Blancpain Sprint Series (BSS) and Blancpain Endurance Series (BES) in 2015. While the BES shedule is complete, there are still venues to be found for the BSS. There is only a draft for the Blancpain Sprint Series Calendar 2015. The number of races shall remain at seven. The final calendar for 2015 is planned to be presented in September 2014.

In following countries negociations are taking place to host a BSS weekend in 2015:

  • Italy
  • Germany
  • Russia (Moscow Raceway?)
  • Brazil (Autódromo Goiânia?)

Those potential new venues rival with the following countries (in the 2014 calendar):

  • France
  • Great Britain
  • Netherlands
  • Slovakia
  • Portugal
  • Belgium
  • Azerbaijan

The source is here:Blancpain GT Series Press Conference 2015 Season | Reveal Draft Calendar